Would you like to set Students of the Year Charleston as your default region? Yes No

Students of the Year Charleston

Winners2020 Lowcountry Students of the Year

The Students of the Year campaign is a philanthropic leadership development program through which highly motivated, high-school leaders embark on a journey of professional growth, ensuring   that they standout when preparing for college and beyond. During the program, students foster professional skills such as entrepreneurship, marketing, and project management in order to raise   funds for The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (LLS). Student leaders fundraise for LLS in honor of   children who are blood cancer survivors. The title Student(s) of the Year is awarded to the candidate or co-candidate team in each community that raises the most funds during the 7-week competition.

Congratulations to our 2020 Lowcountry Student of the Year, Brauer Dowd!  Brauer was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Lymphoma at age 14.  After 8 month of intense treatment, Brauer was declared cancer free.  However, 2 months after treatment Brauer developed Avascular Necrosis (AVN), which led to a total hip replacement. After serving as the Honored Hero in the 2019 Students of the Year Campaign, she couldn't wait to do something positive this year by helping the fund the fight against cancer. Along with Team Brauer Power, she raised a record breaking $162,000+ to fight cancer!

We want to congratulate:

1st Runner Ups: Hannah Switzer and Team Brave

2nd Runner Ups: Hali Arrington, Rowan Bailey, and Meelad Rahimi of Team John's Journey!

Collectively 17 High School Candidates and their teams' hosted events, raised awareness and worked tirelessly for 7-weeks to raise over $487,000 for the LLS mission! Thank you to our incredible candidates for making a life-saving impact! 

We'd also like to recognize and thank:

Our Honored Heros: Brady LaBelle and Aubrey Oates

Our Citizenship Award Winners: Ailish Ward and Hannah Switzer

Our 2021 Students of the Year candidates: Katelyn Wyandt, Anna Musselwhite, Keleigh Nelson, Sydney Schuler and Kensie Carney


Staff Contacts

Liba Buchanan, Campaign Manager

Liba.Buchanan@lls.org | 843.972.4772